Many Faces of a Rock

magnuson10-5-15 144_20151014182809297

The topic of Cee’s Compose Yourself challenge this week is: always take more than one photo.

With digital photography there’s no cost to following this advice, and you’ll never be sorry. The worst that happens is you spend a bit of time deleting the photos you don’t want at the end.

Taking multiple photos of the same subject or scene serves two purposes. The first is simple insurance.

You have everything exactly how you want it for a photo you know will be great. You snap the photo and move on. But when you get home you are horrified to discover your perfect photo is slightly blurry. Maybe you moved. Maybe the wind blew the flower. Maybe your autofocus was keyed on the wrong thing.

If you take more than one shot you increase your chances that the perfect photo you imagined will actually end up on your camera card.

The other purpose is to experiment with composition. If you take multiple shots from different angles and by moving around you have a much higher chance of ending up with a photo that pleases you. And the outcome is often surprising.

The challenge this week is to post a gallery of photos of the same subject, then select your two favorites and explain why you like them. I took these when I was at Magnuson Park last week with this challenge in mind. One of my photographic idiosyncrasies is taking pictures of rocks, especially in or near water.

 

These last two are my favorites, after a bit of cropping. The first of these was the surprising one because I took it last, as an afterthought. It turns out I like the contrast between the rounded and linear textures. The second one I like because of the texture and the peak against the lake.

magnuson10-5-15 148_20151014182636139

magnuson10-5-15 144_20151014182809297

 

3 thoughts on “Many Faces of a Rock

  1. You chose my two favorites as well. Although the photos showing more of the rock shows the various depth of water on it over the season and that is pretty cool too. I love rocks too. :D

    Like

  2. It’s interesting how the color of the water changed as you switched angles! The last two do show the most interesting aspects of the rock, although I like all the others too.

    Like

    • Yeah, it does change depending on the angle of the sun vs. shooting angle. Though the super dark blue in the bottom middle is an artifact of me adjusting brightness and contrast to lower the reflection of the sun off the rock in order to bring out the texture. Cropping and brightness/contrast are the only processing I do, and that only occasionally. So far I haven’t had the patience to learn how to really work in imaging software. I have my hands full learning my camera! Plus I have a bit of a purist streak that feels either I got the shot or I didn’t.

      Like

Comments or questions always welcome!

