Pictures of Pumpkins

walktober10-22-16-009

 

I love pumpkins. I love the shape when you find a perfect pumpkin. I love the rich color and how it immediately evokes autumn. I love how they are both food and creative decoration. I love pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. I even love the sound and feel of saying the word pumpkin.

So when I read on the Wedgwood in Seattle History blog that the Boy Scouts were operating a pumpkin stand I knew I wanted to make a point of going with my camera. (I don’t live in the Wedgwood neighborhood, but it’s close enough to be a quick jaunt down the road.)

Unfortunately, this was our rainiest October on record so I didn’t get there until the last weekend the stand was open. I missed the best displays. But on the day I was there the sun was shining through some high hazy clouds and there were still pumpkins aplenty to entice my lens.

 

walktober10-22-16-015

 

walktober10-22-16-024

 

This bug looked like an ambulatory leaf crawling over the pumpkins.

This bug looked like an ambulatory leaf crawling over the pumpkins.

 

A perfect pumpkin.

A perfect pumpkin.

 

3 thoughts on “Pictures of Pumpkins

    • Agreed on the perfect fall photo op! I’d never gone out for that before though, so I was thrilled when I read about the stand not too far away. I was amazed at how many pumpkins were still there despite having been picked over on previous weekends. Normally you’d have to head out into the country to see such a display.

      Like

Comments or questions always welcome!

