Cormorant Choking Down Lunch

The theme for CFFC this week is funny, and I happened to run into a funny situation with a cormorant yesterday.

You’ll have to excuse the terrible quality of the photos. It was harsh mid day light with the sun at a bad angle, and the birds were fishing a long way out from shore so I had to heavily crop.

I started shooting this cormorant after it had surfaced and swallowed half of its catch. Normally I see them come up with nothing, or a fish. This one had come up with some kind of big eel type thing (I’m not a marine biologist), and was having a difficult time choking the whole thing down.

 

Hold still, I’m trying to eat you!

 

Wow, this thing is bigger than I thought.

 

Pardon me, I have something caught in my throat.

 

*cack*

 

I feel pretty full…

 

…but I think I have room for dessert.

.

One thought on “Cormorant Choking Down Lunch

Comments or questions always welcome!